German English Russian
You are here:

Regions Gießen & Kassel

Northern Hesse

The regions Gießen and Kassel are two of the three Regierungsbezirke of Hesse, Germany, located in the north of the state


The two rivers Schwalm and Eder gave the district its name. After they merge near Felsberg the Eder enters the Fulda at the north of district. In the southeast of the district are the hills of the Knüll.


The district was created in 1972 by merging the former districts Alsfeld and Lauterbach. The main feature of the district is the Vogelsberg, an extinct volcano.