German English Russian
You are here:

Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg


The inscription written on the Rathaus says "The heirs should endeavour to preserve the freedom their fathers have won."

District Altona

Hamburg-Altona is the westernmost urban borough of Hamburg, on the right bank of the Elbe river. From 1640 to 1864 Altona was under the administration of the Danish monarchy. Altona was a independent city until 1937.

District Eimsbüttel

The borough Eimsbüttel is split into nine quarters: Eidelstedt, Eimsbüttel, Harvestehude, Hoheluft-West, Lokstedt, Niendorf, Rotherbaum, Schnelsen and Stellingen.

District Mitte

Mitte covers mostly the urban center of the city of Hamburg. The quarters Hamburg-Alstadt and Neustadt are the historical origin of Hamburg

District North

Hamburg-Nord consists of the quarters Alsterdorf, Barmbek-Nord, Barmbek-Süd, Dulsberg, Eppendorf, Fuhlsbüttel, Groß Borstel, Hoheluft-Ost, Hohenfelde, Langenhorn, Ohlsdorf, Uhlenhorst and Winterhude.